Roots Architects – Single 7″ Vinyl

8.50 CHF


Black wax 7″ single, 400 copies

  • A1 Roots Architects, 1000 Light Years
  • B1 Roots Architects, 1000 Dub Years

Out of stock

Categories: ,


Comes with a digital download code

releases April 12, 2019

The Roots Architects is a very special project produced by Fruits Records founding member Mathias Liengme. This is a tribute to the men in the shadow who built Jamaican reggae in studios. It gathers 50 of the greatest Jamaican session musicians from the 60’s to the early 80’s still playing today. Fruits Records brought them together in studio to create an original album of instrumental songs. “1000 Light Years” is the first single taken from the album “From Then Till Now” to be released later this year. This dark heavy roots song is played by what used to be The High Times Players nucleus in the early 80’s: Barnabas on drums, Chris Meredith on bass, Gibby Morrisson on rhythm guitar and Tony Asher on piano. Then we have Robbie Lyn, Dwight Pinkney, Jah D Fearon, Obeah Denton, Calvin Cameron and Dean Fraser’s horns section who spice up the riddim with beautiful themes and solos.


Drums : Stanley « Barnabas » Bryan
Bass : Christopher Meredith
Piano : Tony « Asher » Brissett
Rhythm guitar : Leebert « Gibby » Morrisson
Lead guitar : Dwight Pinkney
Organ : Dennis « Jah D » Fearon
Korg Polysix : Robbie Lyn
Prophet 12 : Lloyd « Obeah » Denton
Percussions : Alphonso Craig
Repeater : Joseph « Junior Congo » Sutherland
Trombone lead : Calvin « Bubbles » Cameron
Trombone : Everald Gayle
Tenor saxophone : Dean Fraser
Trumpet : Dwight Richards

Recorded at Mixing Lab Studio, Kingston, by Hasani « Snych » Williams.
Additionnal recordings at Small World Studio, Kingston, by Perry Hendricks and Gaylard Bravo.
Mixed at A-Lone Ark Muzik Studio, Santander, by Roberto Sanchez.
Mastered at Precise Mastering, Gordon, by Sam John.

Composed and arranged by Mathias Liengme.
Produced by Mathias Liengme.


all rights reserved


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Roots Architects – Single 7″ Vinyl”